Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum

By Jane Anderson , About.com GuideApril 11, 2013 RSS Follow me on: I frequently read comments from people with celiac disease who say they know they’re not getting any trace gluten in their diets. How do they know this with such certainty? Because their follow-up celiac blood test results are negative, they say. But are those blood tests really a good way to track how well you’re doing on the gluten-free diet ? As it turns out, they’re not. It takes a lot of gluten to turn a negative result on those tests into a positive one … a lot of gluten. You’d pretty much have to cheat blatantly on a regular basis (I’m talking full-gluten pizza, muffins and bread every week) to generate a positive celiac blood test result once you’ve been gluten-free for a while. So should follow-up blood tests be part of your care once you’ve been diagnosed with celiac? That’s something for you and your doctor to decide — as I detail in the above article, blood tests can be helpful in the first year or so after your diagnosis as a rough gauge of how well your villous atrophy is healing. But blood tests will not show you’re getting gluten cross-contamination in trace amounts. For that, you’ll need to rely on your symptoms (if you have them), and on careful research to determine what’s gluten-free and what’s not. Repeat blood tests won’t help. Keep up with the latest in the celiac disease/gluten sensitivity world — sign up for my newsletter , connect with me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter – @AboutCeliac .

click here to find out more http://celiacdisease.about.com/b/2013/04/11/can-blood-tests-tell-you-how-well-youre-doing-on-the-gf-diet.htm

The way we cope with it makes the difference.” Virginia Satir “It isn’t for the moment you are struck that you need courage, but for the long uphill climb back to sanity, faith and security.” Anne Morrow Lindbergh “Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love.” Lao Tzu “The strongest of all warriors are these two – time and patience.” Leo Tolstoy Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; finally DXed on 11/01/10. I figured it out myself. Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon –and I have run my sword right through his throat. I. Win. Exactly. He sounds like a thorough doc to me. He is starting by ruling out active celiac disease first with the antibodies test..

look at this website http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/103334-blood-test/

